My Reaction to Nya’s Story (so far) in A Long Walk to Water

I’ve been thinking about how Nya’s (a main character in A Long Walk to Water) sister got sick from the water, and they need to do something about it. The parents can’t really say to Nya “You can’t drink water until you get home,” because she’s just walked for four hours! 

I think they (the parents) need to figure out a way to get Nya water so she doesn’t have to drink the muddy water from the pond. Maybe boil some water, put it in a bottle, and give it to her for the journey? During the dry season, the water only comes in tiny quantities, so if they boil it, it’ll dry up. Why can’t they just move to a coastline or something where water is right there, and it never dries up? It seems much more ideal than having Nya and Akeer (the sister) walk so far and having to worry that much about water and sickness. Not that they’d drink ocean water, but it seems like it’d be so much easier to find a pond right by the ocean, where they could collect a bunch of water whenever they needed it, and not have to make their daughters walk so long.

Scarlet and Ivy #1: The Lost Twin

Ivy Gray, the main character in Scarlet and Ivy: The Lost Twin, is an only child.

But it wasn’t always that way. 

She used to have a mirror twin, Scarlet. But, only a few months after Scarlet left for Rookwood School (which Ivy didn’t get into), they received the shocking news that Scarlet died of a flu. But then, shortly after Ivy’s birthday, she receives a letter from Rookwood, saying she is to come attend, due to the spot opening up from her sister’s death. 

But when she gets there, she feels something is wrong.

The head teacher, Miss Fox, is telling her she has to take Scarlet’s place. She has to be Scarlet. So when Ivy finds Scarlet’s old diary, with a letter for Ivy, telling her that Scarlet knew this was going to happen, Ivy goes on a hunt for missing pages, and the truth about her sister.

And Miss Fox. 

This book is chock-full of mystery, humor, and friendship, making it such a fun read. The more diary pages you discover, the more mysterious Scarlet’s disappearance becomes. And you’re constantly questioning who Ivy can trust, and who is better to remain in the dark. This book grabs you from page one and doesn’t let you go until you figure out the mystery of Scarlet’s death.  

Readers who enjoy books about mystery, friendship, and tragedy will definitely like this book. Fans of books like Maximum Ride and Keeper of the Lost Cities and possibly Nancy Drew will like this book (series). 

Other books in the series:

#2. Scarlet and Ivy: The Whispers in the Walls

#3. Scarlet and Ivy: The Dance in the Dark

#4. Scarlet and Ivy: The Lights Under the Lake

#5. Scarlet and Ivy: The Curse in the Candlelight 

#6. Scarlet and Ivy: The Last Secret

Hope you enjoy these amazing books!

Bookish Boyfriends #3 Talk Nerdy to Me

 

Eliza Gordon-Fergus, the main character in Talk Nerdy to Me by Tiffany Schmidt, has many rules to follow. Sometimes she wonders if there’s too many rules. But her parents are Nobel prize-winning scientists, and, to them, she is statistics and data. Not feelings. Eliza doesn’t have trouble following those rules, she’s got no interest in dating, and healthy food tastes good. Most of the time.

And then Curtis Cavendish comes into her life.

Curtis is infuriating. His class clown antics hide incredible smarts, he comes up with nicknames for everyone except Eliza, and he’s…oh so charming.

When Eliza gets assigned Frankenstein as her book to do a project on in English class, she’s left feeling more and more like an experiment, and it’s not a good feeling. But, the only F word her parents go by is facts, not feelings.

Curtis agrees to trade her Anne of Green Gables if she beats him in the science fair. Eliza is infuriated, but knows she’s smarter.

Maybe.

Slowly, she begins to realize that her parents don’t get to control her life with rules about what she eats and how many hours she sleeps.

And who she dates.

Talk Nerdy to Me isn’t your classic girl-likes-boy-but-they-can’t-be-together, it runs so much deeper than that.

Eliza’s parents are on a scientific expedition in Antarctica. The fact that her parents aren’t there to talk to her about this makes it so much harder to negotiate about it. This makes it so much more relatable to the reader, because all kids in the age group that this is interesting to, feel like their parents are over-controlling, and don’t understand them. Eliza’s are just a more…severe version of that.

This book contains spoilers for the first two books in the Bookish Boyfriends series, and foreshadows what might  happen in the next one, making you want to rush out and pre-order it on Amazon.

If you enjoyed Five Feet Apart or The Fault in our Stars you will surely enjoy this precious romance. All those books have more to the plot line than the romance, which makes it much more interesting, relatable, and fun to read.

The other  books are:
#1. A Date with Darcy

#2. The Boy Next Story

#4 Get A Clue—Releasing on January 19

Five Feet Apart: Movie vs Book

WARNING: THIS POST CONTAINS SPOILERS FOR FIVE FEET APART  MOVIE AND BOOK. IF YOU HAVE NOT READ/WATCHED IT, DO NOT CONTINUE.

**Pauses while half  the people here leave**

 Okay! Now that you’re still here, and you’ve been warned, let’s continue!

Five Feet Apart is the story of two teenagers with cystic fibrosis, Will and Stella, who fall in love. But, they have to stay six feet apart (sound familiar, anyone?).

The movie actually was a very accurate representation of the book, and not too many important details were taken out, but I’ll explain the ones that were.

Numero uno, I wasn’t very happy that they took out the chapel scene, where Will finds Poe talking to his mother, where Poe explains that he hasn’t seen his parents in two years because they got deported back to Colombia. He mentions visiting his parents in the movie, but it wasn’t explained where or why. The only reason I knew was because I had read the book, and I had to explain to my mom (who was watching it with me)where he was visiting.

The next thing that was taken out, is Stella’s relationship with her parents. In the book, there are lots of small moments when Stella’s relationship with her parents is very strained, but in the movie, most of those were taken out. That had a lot of character development, I think. It gave the reader an insight of Stella’s family life, that we don’t see often since she’s never at her house, and the whole book (Aside from the last two chapters) is set in the hospital.

Okay, totally being a nerd here, but in the book, Stella likes CHOCOLATE milk shakes, and in the movie, she is often seen drinking vanilla ones. This is totally nerdy of me to say, but that got on my nerves a little bit. It’s not that hard of a change, prop people! It’s an incredibly simple detail!

Also, one thing that the book did that the movie didn’t, was told the story between Will and Stella’s perspectives. The movie was very one-sided; and told from Stella’s point of view.

The final thing that I didn’t love, was the ending. At the end of the book, Will and Stella see each other in an airport while they are each going on their respective trips. It’s an open ending, so there’s still hope for the two. At the end of the movie, it ends with Stella’s human touch video, which is still sort of an open ending, but I like the airport ending more, because it gives you more hope for their relationship, seeing that they still care about each other, all those months later.

Okay, so, in conclusion, I think that the book is better than the movie, but the movie is great too!

Thanks for sticking around!

“All this time, I’ve been living for my treatments, instead of doing my treatments so I that I can live…I want to live.” —Stella Grant

“It’s just life, Stella. It’ll be over before we know it.” —Will Newman

P.S. Small disclaimer, the book and movie both contain strong language, just figured I should put that in.